

Home About Calendar Announcements Senators Executive Committee File Cabinet Issues & Updates

Funding for Professional Development (FPD) Results listed for the 2012 Shanklin & GSS Sponsored Awards

Results listed for the 2012 Shanklin & GSS Sponsored Awards



The Charles E. Shanklin Colloquium and the Graduate Student Senate Awards Ceremony is a day long event showcasing graduate student research to the university community. During the day graduate students present short conference papers, poster exhibits, and creative projects within the Bowen-Thompson Student Union.

There are three components to the day:

- 1. The Charles E. Shanklin Award for Research Excellence
- 2. The Shanklin Colloquium
- 3. The Graduate Student Senate Awards

The 30th Charles E. Shanklin Award for Research Excellence

was established by Graduate Student Senate as a meritorious award to recognize excellence in original research by graduate students at Bowling Green State University. Research papers are submitted according to the guidelines to be judged first within one of three categories of competition (Arts & Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and Science and Mathematics) where two finalists are selected. The submission deadline is February 22, 2012. Then on April 19, as part of the Shanklin Awards & Colloquium Day, these 6 finalists will present their papers to all nine judges to determine the winner in each category. Each first place presenter will receive \$1250.00. Each second place presenter will receive \$750.00.

Charles E. Shanklin and GSS Awards Ceremony

for information on slides above click on the text balloon.

The 2012 winners are....

In the Category of the Sciences & Mathematics:

1st place

Rony Khnayzer Photochemistry

Increasing the Efficiency of Solar Cells using Non-Coherent Pumped Upconversion Photochemistry

2nd place

Papatya Sevinc Photochemistry

Single Molecule Interfacial Electron Transfer in Solar Energy

In the Category of the Arts & Humanities:

1st place

Miriam A. Hahn Theatre & Film

"As If There Were No Damages": Representing Native American Spirituality in the Dramas of Lope De Vega and Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz

2nd place

Samantha Gaier Art History

Inclusive and Representational Public Architecture of Santo Spirito, Renaissance Florence

In the Category of the Social and Behavioral Sciences:

1st place

Christian Vukasovich School of Media & Communication

Hard Rock and Ethno-National Identity on World Tour: An Analysis of Hate Speech in Identity Construction

2nd place

Ryan Peterson Psychology

Septal Area Lesions Impair Spatial Working Memory in Homing Pigeons (Columba livia)

The Charles E. Shanklin Colloquium highlights significant research and efforts of graduate students here at BGSU. The presentations may be in the form of papers, posters or creative exhibits. Paper and poster presentations will be judged and will be awarded \$300.00 for first place, \$150.00 for second place, and \$75.00 for third for paper presentations and the same amounts for the poster presentations. The submission deadline is March 16, 2012. Applicants for the Shanklin Award may also apply to participate in the event as well, but Colloquium participation does not require submission for the Shanklin award. One may participate in either or both activities.

2012 Colloquium Winners

Paper presentations

First place-- Emily Webber, Psychology Department

Second place--Brian Rutter, Biology Department

Third place--Amanda Athon, English Department

Poster Presentations

First place--Eric Teske, College Student Personnel

Second place--Emily Webber, Psychology Department

Third place (tie)--Jeremiah Davis, Biology Department and Unique Shaw, Sociology Department

GSS Awards In addition to the Charles E. Shanklin Research Awards, GSS sponsors several awards which recognize the graduate students' contributions to the Bowling Green educational community, their demonstration of the university's core values, as well their exemplary academic achievements. **The GSS Awards include:**

- 2011-2012 Jill Carr Outstanding Graduate Student Award recognizes outstanding graduates students and their contribution to the BGSU community. This is a self nominated award.
- WINNERS: Arpan Yagnik and Yen-Lin Goh
- <u>2011-2012 Outstanding International Graduate Student Award</u> recognizes outstanding international graduate students at Bowling Green State University. This is a self nominated award.
- WINNERS: Yen-Lin Goh and Elena Khon
- 2011-2012 Administrative Assistant Award recognizes outstanding graduate administrative assistants and their contribution to their areas of service. The area's supervisor (faculty, staff or administrator) nominates the candidates for this award.
- WINNER: Medea Loibl
- 2011-2012 Research Assistant Award recognizes outstanding graduate research assistants each year. The research area's supervisor (faculty, staff or administrator) nominate the candidates for this award.\
- WINNERS (tied): Arpan Yagnik and Robert Lonardo
- 2011-2012 OCGRE (Outstanding Contributor to Graduate Education) Award graduate students have the opportunity to recognize those faculty members whose expertise, vision, and encouragement have most benefited their professional and academic development. More information coming soon! A professor who has been a recipient in the past five years is not eligible.
- WINNER: Dr. Dafina Lazarus Stewart Honorable Mention: Dr. Christian Coons
- Recent OCGRE recipients:

2006-2007Laura Sanchez
Sociology Department

2007-2008

Michael Donnells

Education

2008-2009

Kris Blair

English Department

2009-2010

Lee Nickoson-Massey English Department

2010-2011

Carolyn Palmer & Robert DeBard (Co Nomination) Higher Education and Student Affairs

The GSS Senator of the Year for 2012 is Mike Salitrynski

The Shanklin and GSS Awards Ceremony will be held the evening of April 19, 2012. This ceremony recognizes the finalists of the Charles E. Shanklin Award for Research Excellence, the winners of the GSS Awards, the participants in the Shanklin Colloquium, and the recipients of the Graduate College's Awards* are recognized as well.

The complete list of graduate award recipients will include:

Charles E. Shanklin Award (divisions of Arts and Humanities, Science and Mathematics, Social and Behavioral Sciences)

The Jill Carr Outstanding Graduate Student Award

The Outstanding International Graduate Student Award

The Administrative Assistant Award

The Research Assistant Ward

The Outstanding Contributor To Graduate Education Award

Recipients of Colloquium Presenation and Poster Sessions Awards

The Outstanding TA Award*

The Winifred O. Stone Award*

The Distinguished Thesis Award*

The Distinguished Dissertation Award*

Photos of the 2011 Shanklin Award Ceremony are found there in

Subpages (1): The 30th Shanklin and GSS Awards Ceremony photo gallery



Sign in | Recent Site Activity | Report Abuse | Print Page | Remove Access | Powered By Google Sites